Vonn, Kipchoge, Gilmore, Vieira among Latest Names to attend Laureus World Sports Awards

Share this page

February 5, 2019

Just days after announcing her retirement, Lindsey Vonn, the greatest women’s skier of all time, has confirmed she will be attending the Laureus World Sports Awards in Monaco later this month.

Vonn heads a glittering list of Nominees who will be in Monaco competing for the most prestigious sports awards in the world, including Didier Deschamps, manager of the French World Cup team, Kenya’s marathon star Eliud Kipchoge, ironman triathlon world champion Daniela Ryf, seven-times surfing world champion Stephanie Gilmore and brilliant young Jamaican sprinter Briana Williams.

Among other Nominees confirmed so far for the February 18 event are Ana Carrasco, Maya Gabeira, Anna Gasser, Diede de Groot, Brian McKeever, Bibian Mentel-Spee, Vinesh Phogat, Grigorios Polychronidis and Markus Rehm.

They will be joined by great sports stars past and present including football’s Kosovare Asllani, Fredi Bobic, Fabio Capello, Alex Scott, Mikael Silvestre and Patrick Vieira, ex-Formula One star David Coulthard,  Olympic swimer Missy Franklin, rugby’s Bryan Habana and Nolli Waterman, hockey legends Luciana Aymar from Argentina and the UK’s Kate and Helen Richardson-Walsh, German boxer Axel Schulz, US skateboarder Lizzie Armanto, UK athletics star Paula Radcliffe and former German Olympic track cyclist Kristina Vogel. More attendees will be announced in due course.

Among the Laureus Academy Members already confirmed for Monaco are:

Giacomo Agostini, Marcus Allen, Franz Beckenbauer, Boris Becker, Sergey Bubka, Cafu, Fabian Cancellara, Nadia Comaneci, Marcel Desailly, Luis Figo, Emerson Fittipaldi, Sean Fitzpatrick, Dawn Fraser, Cathy Freeman, Tanni Grey-Thompson, Marvelous Marvin Hagler, Tony Hawk, Maria Höfl-Riesch, Mike Horn, Chris Hoy, Franz Klammer, Tegla Loroupe, Edwin Moses, Nawal El Moutawakel, Li Na, Alexey Nemov, Lorena Ochoa, Carles Puyol, Alessandro Del Piero, Morné du Plessis, Hugo Porta, Steve Redgrave, Monica Seles, Mark Spitz, Daley Thompson, Steve Waugh, Katarina Witt, Li Xiaopeng, Yang Yang, Deng Yaping,

Media who wish to attend the Laureus World Sports Awards should apply as soon as possible for accreditation at http://accreditation.laureus.com. In addition to reporting on the Awards Ceremony, Media attending will have the opportunity to interview Laureus Academy Members, Ambassadors and other sportsmen and women present in Monaco.

While celebrating the greatest sporting successes of the year, the Laureus World Sports Awards also showcases the work of Laureus Sport for Good, which uses the power of sport to end violence, discrimination and disadvantage, showing how sport can change the world. Today Laureus supports more than 160 programmes in over 40 countries, working to transform society and improve the lives of young people. Laureus Sport for Good is championed by the members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, 66 of the greatest living legends of sport.

For the full list of Nominees, click here.